I could have cleaned house, but instead I did this….

I’ve been out of town for a week, meaning the menfolk have been on their own.  They did a good job keeping it all together, but there was ample housework to be done.  So, of course I did a furniture project, instead! Above is a nice little sewing bench that my friend Chris brought me from a thrifting adventure.  It might also have been a vanity bench.  Sadly, it has lost it’s drawer somewhere.

At first I thought I would paint the shelf where the drawer goes, and then look for a tray or basket that fit the space, but inspiration struck in the form of an Amazon box.

A little tape, white glue, and cutting later, I had a drawer.  I doubled every side of the box, and used white glue on the theory that it would work into the fibers of the cardboard and make it sturdier.  I did 4 layers on the drawer front.

Then I wiped it down with Howards furniture polish, stapled new fabric and some batting on the top, and covered the front of the drawer with fabric and a single layer of batting.  The ribbon loop is how one would open the drawer.

While a cardboard drawer won’t be as strong as a wood one, I think that because it sits on a flat shelf it will be strong enough to be useful for small, light things.  I’m going to look for a basket for the bottom, and keep things in there.  Or maybe the cone thread should go there? 

I have to say I’m thrilled with how it came out!

Posted by Picasa
7 responses »

Leave a Reply

