Robot Baby

Image

This dolly was definitely a lemonaide-out-of-lemons situation.  She’s from a vintage pattern, and was supposed to be a sweet old fashioned girl, wearing little overalls made from a 1930’3 reproduction fabric that had baby chicks on it.  I decided she needed red shoes, and that is where the trouble started.

I smeared the red onto the leg, no big thing, but then I got some on the face.  OK, then, I decided I would paint the whole face, a skin color, and then do the features.  But she looked dead.  I hate looking at dead babies.  So, I repainted, and still, weird looking.  I threw her out.

About an hour later, I dug her out of the trash, decided I would spray paint her with primer, and start over.  But, the can of paint I grabbed had the wrong cap on it, and so I sprayed her silver!  OH NO!  Hmmm…actually, not bad.  But what about the brown curly hair?  Of course! Shiny blue!

From there it was on to sharpie marker for details and the bedazzler for, uhm, dazzle.And, here we have Robot baby.  Her overalls are made out of outgrown pajama pants from my son, so nostalgic in their own way.Maybe I will make a series of robot children?

One response »

  1. Oh, this made me laugh! This is just the kind of thing I would do..one thing after another and then make the best of it with a sense of humor! She’s cute in one of those outer spacey kind of ways!

Leave a Reply

