Glennen Omnistitch Embelisher

About 5 years ago, I bought the above named machine. It had no instructions, no feed dogs, and it seemed to be a way to put yarn down on fabric. Liking to spend a fair amount of my disposable time and income of fabric and yarn, I bought the machine without understanding it. And then I go really, really frustrated. Then I put it away for five years.

In the mean time, I learned a lot more about sewing machines and repairing them, and how they work, and I found the pretty quiet Omnistitch group on yahoo. That got me a manual, emailed by a kind member, and a vague idea of how to use the machine. Tonight while shifting things around in the Mom Cave (aka sewing bunker, aka room formerly known as a garage) I happened to move both the Glennen machine and a roll of canvs, and an idea clicked. Hooked rugs. No, no, not real hooked rugs. Using the machine to lay down yarn in a folk arty, hooked rug way. Because I need to learn rug hooking like I need a hole in my head. I already sew, quilt, knit, and crochet. I don’t really want to hook rugs, I just want to own them. And we, being a family of boys and dogs, are hard on rugs. A real hooked rug would be too precious to put on the floor,. But, a rug made out of acrylic yarn on canvas…….

A quick rummage through the yarn closet and I found three skeins of Lion Brand Homespun that are left over from something, and an hour and a half later, I have a little rug! I have some learning to do on the background- you can see the white canvas peeking through the purple yarn. The design would have been better if I had drawn it out first, instead of free styling the whole thing.

I learned a fair amount about how the machine works.I does not like it when I push the work back away from me for a long stretch, preferring side to side and forward motion. It was like a little puzzle to figure out where to fill in next. I know there are folks who do art pieces with silks and ribbons, but the feeder for the yarn really gobbles it up, and I am unlikely to use anything but acrylic yarn for the foreseeable future. Here’s a picture of the rug:
6iSqcoRSrY1W7GHsFZp6Cllhf7oFum8o-PdtHeft-K8It has obvious design and technique issues, and is a homely little thing, but we will use it as a bathmat and so the ugly doesn’t matter much. What I’m geeked up about is the possibility of future rugs!

5 responses »

  1. Ooh. Now I want one, too. I did do rug hooking, years ago and made a small rug for each DD. Always meant to get back to it. A time consuming AND bulky hobby—hoarding all the thrift shop wool garments!

    Have fun Cheryl

  2. I’ve gotten interested in rug hooking recently, too, and scored several yards of linen backing at the thrift store for a pittance right after I learned what it was for! Your machine sounds fun, and it strikes me that the path is just like continuous quilting but MUCH, MUCH closer together. Maybe your quilting books will inspire some techniques. What happens when you cross stitching lines? If the machine is OK with that, it might be interesting to sew some “plaid” designs for the background and maybe foreground designs on top. Can I come over and play with you? LOL

Leave a Reply

