But is it Art?

No,this first effort is probably not….I’m looking forward to taking a class with an art quilter whose work I admire very much, Rayna Gillman.   I have never taken an art quilting class, or actually made an art quilt.  I mean, I make a lot of original work, but you are more likely to find my work with someone napping with it than hung on a wall. So, It occurred to me that I ought to make a stab at an art quilt.

The construction problems are definitely different than with a more block based quilt.   It is a lot like putting a crazy quilt together, looking for areas that match in size and then sewing those areas together, then making another area match on one side and sewing it on, and so forth. I’m also not accustomed to using a design wall. There is a definite knack to keeping things aligned the same way they were on the wall.  It is also an interesting process, to move things around on the wall before deciding. My usual methods of serendipity and impulsiveness work less well with a design wall. The inspiration for this quilt is the lovely littlemola of a bird that a friend gave me.  I keep moving it around the quilt, trying to decide where to sew it down.  Altogether, I think I will have to learn a lot!Image

4 responses »

  1. I’m liking the quilt. I have never worked with a design wall either–I’m very interested in your experience and will read eagerly to see how it goes. Already you mentioned that it’s hard to keep elements aligned the same way when you try to sew them; can you please explain why for me ?

Leave a Reply

